Get Adobe Flash player


Egypt, Libya

Algeria, Morocco & Tunisia



The AMCOW AfricaSan Awards are dedicated to recognizing outstanding efforts and achievements in sanitation and hygiene in Africa which result in large-scale, sustainable behaviour changes and tangible impacts. They aim at raising the profile of sanitation and hygiene by drawing attention to successful approaches, promoting excellence in leadership, innovation and sanitation and hygiene improvements in Africa, and providing incentives for action beyond 2008 - the International Year of Sanitation.
The awards are open to all individuals and institutions working in the sanitation and hygiene sector in Africa. These include regulatory and oversight bodies, ministries, local governments, civil society and training/research institutions, the private sector, the media and schools.
Previous AMCOW AfricaSan Awards have recognized outstanding achievements in the following categories: Leadership; Technical Innovation; NGO/Civil Society; Public Service; Distinguished Woman Leader in Sanitation and Hygiene; and Grassroots Champion.
The 2011 AMCOW AfricaSan Awards will consider the following categories:

Utilities Award:  To recognize utilities that distinguished themselves in the delivery of sanitation services, and whose accomplishments have raised the bar on excellence through their performance, programs and special projects.
Local Government Award: To honour Local Government officials who through personal commitment and drive, or Local Government Councils/Administrations who through formulation and implementation of clear policies on sanitation have contributed to achieving large-scale improvements in sanitation and hygiene.
Media Award: To honour individual reporters, producers, or media organizations who through sustained coverage of sanitation and hygiene issues have provided high visibility in the media space and contributed to raising the profile of sanitation and hygiene on the continent.

Nomination guidelines
You may nominate yourself or another individual or institution. Entries may be made by individuals or organizations based within or outside Africa. Nominations should include the name and contact details of the nominee, and a short statement (no more than 500 words) about their work and why they deserve the award. The nominees must be involved in sanitation and hygiene-related activities within Africa. Nomination forms are available at
Nominations should be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Submissions may be in English or French and should be received by the 17th of June, 2011.
For more information please visit or call Thompson Abu (Mobile +234-803-311-9493; Tel. +234-9-7800440) or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Useful Links