Get Adobe Flash player


Egypt, Libya

Algeria, Morocco & Tunisia



The African Ministers responsible for water having noted the establishment of the African Union, the launch of the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) with the overall objective of encouraging new approaches to Africa's sustainable development challenges, and being aware of the challenges posed by the Millennium Declaration and the regional intergovernmental responses essential for translating the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) on Water and Sanitation into reality in Africa, decided to establish the African Ministerial Council on Water (AMCOW). AMCOW was formally launched in Abuja, Nigeria on April 30, 2002.

The North African Ministers' Council On water (NAMCOW) is a sub-region of the AMCOW . The member states of NAMCOW are Mauritania, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt

Useful Links